AIGA San Francisco

the professional association for design


AIGA San Francisco Awards $6,000 in Scholarships for 2011

The San Francisco Chapter of AIGA, the professional association for design, announced on June 4, 2011, the recipients of the AIGA SF’s Enrichment and Rick Tharp Scholarships. The total amount distributed was $6,000.

The Enrichment Scholarship award is based on the overall excellence of the student’s work and his/her strong academic achievement. Applicants chosen by each of 11 participating schools will be reviewed by the 2011 Enrichment Scholarship Judging Committee. The final awards are subject to review and approval by AIGA SF’s Board of Directors.

The Judges’ Honor is a special citation for notable student achievement and promise.

One overall winner selected from the 11 was awarded the Rick Tharp Scholarship. The Rick Tharp Scholarship was created to honor the memory of Rick Tharp, a world-class graphic designer whose work influenced the entire design industry. Rick Tharp was talented and passionate. His work was innovative and often humorous. This scholarship honors the commitment, wit and brilliance that Tharp brought to his profession and his community. Awarded for the first time in 2009, the Rick Tharp Scholarship is co-sponsored by the Western Art Directors Club and AIGA San Francisco.

2011 Scholarship Judging Committee

Heidi Reinfeld, Managing Creative Director

Sally Clarke, Creative Director of Product + Packaging
Method Home

2011 Enrichment Scholarship Recipients

Academy of Art University
Mike Andersen

Art Institute of California, San Francisco
Kwadwo Otempong

California College of the Arts
Matt Delbridge

California Poly, San Luis Obispo
Jeff Rauch

California State University, Chico
Alex Laney

City College of San Francisco
Jimmy La

San Francisco State University
Vince Skelly

San Jose State University
Maria Mercedes Piva

University of California, Davis
Stephanie Pressler

University of the Pacific
Cindy Quan

University of San Francisco
Kate Matsumoto

Judges’ Honor
Matt Delbridge
California College of the Arts

Rick Tharp Scholarship
Mike Andersen
Academy of Art University


Bookmark and Share

Join and Follow AIGASF