AIGA San Francisco

the professional association for design


AIGA San Francisco Awards $5,500 in Scholarships

The San Francisco Chapter of AIGA, the professional association for design, announced on May 30, 2009 the recipients of the AIGA SF’s Enrichment and Rick Tharp Scholarships. The total amount distributed was $5,500.

The Enrichment Scholarship was created by AIGA San Francisco to enhance the quality and diversity of design education. Winners receive a scholarship worth $500 which may be used to underwrite the cost of their design education or to pay for a supplemental program, such as attending a design conference or participating in a class or workshop.

The Enrichment Scholarship award is based on the overall excellence of the student’s work and his/her strong academic achievement. Applicants chosen by each of 10 participating schools will be reviewed by the 2009 Enrichment Scholarship Judging Committee. The final awards are subject to review and approval by AIGA SF’s Board of Directors.

The 2009 Enrichment Scholarship Judging Committee:

  • Sara Schneider, Chronicle Books
  • Jason Schulte, Office
  • Anthony Dines, The Barbarian Group

One overall winner selected from the 10 will also be awarded the Rick Tharp Scholarship. The Rick Tharp Scholarship was created to honor the memory of Rick Tharp, a world-class graphic designer whose work influenced the entire design industry. Rick Tharp was talented and passionate. His work was innovative and often humorous.

This scholarship honors the commitment, wit and brilliance that Tharp brought to his profession and his community. Awarded for the first time in 2009, the Rick Tharp Scholarship is co-sponsored by the Western Art Directors Club and AIGA San Francisco.

2009 Enrichment Scholarship Recipients by School:

  • Academy of Art University, Carl Bender
  • Art Institute of California,  San Francisco, Cortney Cassidy
  • Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, Amanda Wallace
  • California College of the Arts, Nikolaos Skourtis
  • City College of San Francisco, Melissa Wennlund
  • CSU Sacramento, Hesam Rahmanian
  • San Francisco State University, Hiroki Takeshita
  • San Jose State University, Hoekeun Kim
  • University of California, Davis, Michael Wang
  • University of the Pacific, Heather McCoy

Rick Tharp Scholarship:

  • Academy of Art University, Carl Bender


Bookmark and Share

Join and Follow AIGASF